top of page

12th Annual Mormon Lit Blitz: Longlist

Thank you to everyone who submitted to this year’s Mormon Lit Blitz!

After our initial review of these pieces, we’re excited to share our long list of twenty-four semi-finalist pieces (listed alphabetically by author’s last name):

“The Pear Tree” Stan Absher

“Earthworm Lore” Stan Absher

“A Young Mother’s Sacrament” Emily Harris Adams

“Missouri Saints” Emily Harris Adams

“Creature from the Back Lagoon” Lee Allred

“Future Genealogists” Madison Beckstrand

“The Cost” Liz Busby

“Refried Dreams” Cristie Cowles Charles

“Double Dactyls” D.A. Cooper

“Nine Sunsets” Chanel Earl

“This time and this season” Chanel Earl

“Resolution” Selina Forsyth

“Second Coming” Michael Hicks

“Psalm” Michael Hicks

“Antelife” Dan Mabee

“No Stone” Timothy Merrill

“My Pondering Heart” William Morris

“Today My Son Is Getting Married” Heidi Naylor

“Cupcake Night at Young Women’s” Heidi Naylor

“O sabao del Salvador” Claudio Antão Ribeiro de Oliveira

“Nexus of Everything” Merrijane Rice

“Analog” Merrijane Rice

“Joanna Imagines the Sower” Robbie Taggart

“The Patience of a Prophetess” Robbie Taggart

We will announce the twelve finalists next Monday (September 18). The finalists will then be published (including an audio version!) one per day, from October 23 to November 4, with voting taking place afterward.

256 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2024 Mormon Lit Blitz Long List

Long List for 2024 Mormon Lit Blitz “Abrahamic Sacrifice” by Annaliese Lemmon “Advice to a Young Mormon Poet" by Scott Hales “Aquele Beijo” by Ana Claudia Soli “Building an Ark” by Merrijane Rice “Bun

2024 Lit Blitz Call for Submissions

Want to explore an idea and connect with other writers? Submissions for the Thirteenth Annual Mormon Lit Blitz writing contest are due on 31 March 2024 to Submitted w


bottom of page