top of page

12th Annual Mormon Lit Blitz: Finalists

Updated: Oct 21, 2023

From 23 October through 4 November, we'll post the finalists in this year's Mormon Lit Blitz here on mormonlitlab.org. Join us for a daily poem, essay, or short story and vote for your favorites at the end. This year we're hoping to have a short audio version of each piece as well.

Here are the twelve pieces you can look forward to:

Monday 23 October: “Nexus of Everything,” Merrijane Rice

Tuesday 24 October: “Refried Dreams,” Cristie Cowles Charles

Wednesday 25 October: “Second Coming,” Michael Hicks

Thursday 26 October: “This Time and This Season,” Chanel Earl

Friday 27 October: “The Pear Tree,” Stan Absher

Saturday 28 October: “A Young Mother’s Sacrament,” Emily Harris Adams


Monday 30 October: “Earthworm Lore,” Stan Absher

Tuesday 31 October: “Creature from the Back Lagoon,” Lee Allred

Wednesday 1 November: “Antelife,” Dan Mabee

Thursday 2 November: “The Cost,” Liz Busby

Friday 3 November: “Future Genealogists,” Madison Beckstrand

Saturday 4 November: “Nine Sunsets,” Chanel Earl


Congratulations to the finalists! We are grateful for what you do each year to engage our imaginations and broaden our sense of what is possible in Mormon Literature.

399 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2024 Mormon Lit Blitz Long List

Long List for 2024 Mormon Lit Blitz “Abrahamic Sacrifice” by Annaliese Lemmon “Advice to a Young Mormon Poet" by Scott Hales “Aquele Beijo” by Ana Claudia Soli “Building an Ark” by Merrijane Rice “Bun

2024 Lit Blitz Call for Submissions

Want to explore an idea and connect with other writers? Submissions for the Thirteenth Annual Mormon Lit Blitz writing contest are due on 31 March 2024 to everydaymormonwriter@gmail.com. Submitted w

Comments


bottom of page